Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Low tide

Is about how I felt today....

...I was feeling restless and a little unappreciated for all the work I have done here. Christina could not be no more polar opposite than Jim. His laid back laughing humor is replaced by a stiff ungrateful reproach in Christina. It is just her personality, but it can be a downer for everyone on the farm. Plus, I've been traveling for so long now after two weeks I am ready to move again. For 8 months now I've only stayed somewhere longer than two weeks twice. Being so nomadic and free has become the norm.

I timed the tides ebb today and rode to False Bay to explore the briny rocks and tide pools exposed. An alien barren place, between worlds, transient where land meets sea and sea retreats. Padding softly through the mucky silt and hop scotching amongst the boulders. Seaweed washed up among the flats, boulders pockmarked with mussels and barnacles, flocks of small seabirds appearing and vanishing on the breeze and the croak of gulls huddled together at waters edge further out. Fishing boats like specks beyond the mouth of the bay, entirely dried up now....

Inhalation. Respiration of the ocean. Low tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.