Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Drookit!

Off to visit the vet this morning to check up on Archie's eye. We got the bus, and it was full of students, the vet practice being near a uni campus. And not one of those strapping young folk got up to give the old codger a seat! Maybe my new chipmunk cheeks make me look younger...(joke).

There is still redness in his eye, and his lymph gland on that side is huge, so we'll keep going with the drops.

The usual fun and games in the waiting room, but thank goodness, this time, I didn't have to go and wait outside with him! And for once, there was an even more excitable dog there...

I love to chat to the other owners. There was a black lab with a lampshade on. She (the dog) had dived into the surf at Porty, hit a wave and broke her leg!!

Although it was a blustery drizzly day, we walked home. I have a nice new dog walking raincoat, but we were both drookit and bedraggled. Archie had a rub down - he likes this - and then charged round even more maniacally than usual, till I discovered he had a sock! I'd dropped it while hanging the washing on the pulley. His dream... Apart from my hat.

Had an appointment in the afternoon with my surgeon for a follow up visit. Went to the wrong place! I had about six weeks to plan for this, but didn't read the top of the letter. And so I had a stressful taxi ride across town in the rush hour. I hate being late for appointments, and I was keeping an eye on the meter - I only had a £10 note, and was worried I'd have to shout 'STOP!' and run the rest of the way (wouldn't be the first time). As it happens, I was able to give the taxi driver a handsome £1:10 tip.

And I got there on time. Then I had to wait, of course...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.