Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Peek-a-boo at the Zoo!

Our first stop today was Barcelona Zoo. I saw lots of things there that I've never seen before. I especially had fun waving at the rhino and the meerkats. There is a baby giraffe at the zoo called Ba-ba. He has his own cartoon character - that's who I'm next to in the photo. I'm the cheeky monkey! We had lunch next to the sea lion enclosure. Some of them were swimming and some were sunbathing on the rocks. The zookeepers came out to feed them while we were there and some of them were doing tricks for their fish.

After the zoo we took the sightseeing bus. We went all the way across Barcelona to the Placa d'Espana. I had an ice lolly once we got there because it had been very hot on the bus. We went to see the Mies van der Rohe pavilion, which Dad's friend Ol had recommended (Dad says Ol likes it because he's an architect. Mum liked it though because of the interesting stones they'd used on the walls). Then we went right to the top of Montjuic and had a drink on the terrace at the front of the museum. I had lots of fun playing with two plastic cups and crawling away from Mum and Dad. My knees got very dirty. We then took the bus all the way back down to the bottom of the Ramblas, where I had my dinner. The Ramblas is very busy, with lots of stalls selling things, people pretending to be statues, people eating and drinking or just walking around like we were. Dad carried me the whole way up the Ramblas!

We're leaving Barcelona tomorrow to head to the villa. I've had lots of fun here. Tomorrow is "La Diada", the national day of Catalunya.

Here's a link to more photos of today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.