Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Homeward Bound

The showers proved to be too frequent and heavy today during the "golden hours" around sunrise and sunset to capture anything special.

This morning there were signs of potential so I got up and ready for blipping. However, a large cloud rolled over from the North west and the opportunity was lost. This afternoon there were breaks in the clouds but few signs of a decent sunset. The only colour developing was on the clouds to the east over Arran, so I got the wellies on and headed over to Port Righ, which has a lovely little rounded bay accessed by some steep steps.

By the time I arrived the muted colours were dissipating fast. I rushed to the steps and got half way down when a Carradale fishing boat appeared, heading back to harbour after a day at the prawns. It at least brought a bit of extra interest to the scene!

I took a few shots including some zoomed in on the boat , but I much preferred the wide angle with the curves of the bay and lines of seaweed reaching out as if to embrace the boat as it headed for the safety of the harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.