Seafield Pond at Sunset

This blip has last minute written all over it as it was taken when I was walking the dogs round Seadfield Pond just as the sun was setting. What caught my eye was the tops of the reeds that were that were backlit by the setting sun.

To capture this was another matter as the contrast range was way too much for any camera. I tried some in camera HDR shots but these were spoilt by the movement of the reeds and in any case the contrast was flattened too much.

So in the end I had to work on RAW files on the computer selecting the reeds in order to bring out their luminescence which turned out to be a fiddly job in the end.

Compositionally the image lacks any centre of focus but I hope in terms of its atmosphere it does convey something of the magic of those last rays of sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.