2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

On the House

I'm in Leeds to commentate on a massive 10Km race tomorrow.
There are 11,800 entered so it's going to be a bit of a do!

There's never a dull moment......

A lady fell down the stairs and I seemed to be the first on the scene with first aid knowledge.

No mucking about, I asked for an ambulance to be called and for others to keep other people away from the area (a good rule of thumb: keep the crowd busy!)

Cue the "Is an ambulance really necessary?" brigade.

"Well we've called it now and once they're called they don't stop", was my reply.

The despatcher was brilliant, and stayed on the line until the ambulance crew arrived and was very complimentary about my handling of the situation. We even managed a giggle with the patient. To check her level of conciousness I asked if she was going to be me dinner. An emphatic "NO!" reassured me and the despatcher!

Thankfully a defibrillator wasn't required because the hotel doesn't have one. They may well reconsider....

I believe the lady has recovered well, so that's great news.

As a token of appreciation the manager offered me a complimenatary drink from the bar.

Naturally I took a large one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.