This is not a heron!

What a glorious day...golden sunshine and a heavy frost. I sent a text to Ellen to see if the sun shone over Old Warke Dam in the morning, yes was the answer so I got ready as quickly as I could and set off. I knew the heron had a favourite branch and I was in luck, it was there perched across the water. I set up my tripod and waited. I wanted to catch it flying off across the water. I waited.....

...and waited.... ...and waited.... ....and waited...... ...and waited.....

In fact I waited for just over three hours. That damn heron just sat there on the Dam. Walkers and joggers, cyclists and dog walkers passed by, some twice, some even stopped for a chat, or a smell...these were mostly the dogs though ha ha ha...and I gradually started to freeze. When I could no longer feel my toes I gave up. Five more herons had arrived but they were too far away and once the little buggers had landed they tucked their heads away and didn't move again.

I walked back along the path and a few squirrels ran helter skelter round a tree...I ran off a few shots. So after standing for hours in the woods hoping to bag a flying heron I ended up with a squirrel...oh well. I have new tactics for the next time...buy a 400mm telephoto lens, take a flask, wear warmer clothes and go much earlier in the morning!

I'd parked outside Ellen's house and had hoped for a warming cuppa as I left the woods, but sadly she was still out shopping. I did go back later to give her the pics I had taken at Isobel's birthday and she was thrilled with them...phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.