AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

I am here!

I think I've mentioned before that my dad and I used to send each other picture messages of the "I am here" variety - his usually gloating as he knew I'd be cooped up in an office... This would have been one such p.m., since this is indeed where I am! I've been awake for 19 hours, set off from a Manchester hotel 18 hours ago (oh Christ it's hard working out time zones), spent 3 hours in an airport and 8 hours on a plane followed by almost 2 hours getting out of another airport (gotta love US customs - give us a smile, go on!). Most of my flight seemed to be heading for the taxi rank but I took a punt and decided on the train/subway (if I can get round Europe for a month without much trouble, I was pretty sure I could manage Manhattan). The airtrain onto the island and two subway trains later and I arrived. So I'm Chinatown and it's a bit intimidating - not to mention fragrant (and not in a good way). I've been for a shortish walk, found a Starbucks (maybe I should be eating local, but give me a break, I've only just arrived!), got a bit lost on the way back to the hotel (shocker, I know) and now I'm lying down - at least the TV stations are English - and I'm in America so there are loads lol. What a day! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.