Whitmore Hall

I love going round stately homes but I very rarely think, "I'd love to stay here for awhile."

Whitmore Hall is a real home. It isn't open to the public all year - only from May to the end of August, unless it's a private trip (which ours was). It's a family home, and this is the bedroom of the lady of the house - complete with her make up and all her family photos.

It has been the family home of the Mainwarings, descendants of the original Norman owners, for over 900 years. It is described as "a fine example of a small Carolinian Manor House, built in 1676"

I loved it. I loved walking through the gardens too (even though it's all autumnal and fading). I felt privileged to be seeing the graves of much loved pets. I so enjoyed wandering down to the Tudor Stables.

The trip was organised by our local NADFAS (National Association of Decorative and Fine Arts Societies) and it wasn't too far from my home, near to Keele University in North Staffordshire.

Well worth a trip - and it's beautiful countryside around there too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.