BLIP #700 "Happy Saint Andrews Day"

Well just a quickie today as it is a nice way to celebrate my 700th blip today with some contrails giving me my St Andrews Cross in the sky for St Andrews Day the black around the picture is for the tragic accident in Glasgow last night with the Police Helicopter crashing into the Clutha Pub near the River Clyde and my thoughts are with all those who have suffered and it was great to see how everyone from the public and emergency services worked together just after the incident happened to rescue as many of those inside as possible and are continuing to look for others.
Well it was an early start again for me with a trip to Aberdeen with gorgeous blue sk ies as the sun came up and then I was was able to get my blip for the day as it would have been a shot of my flag in the garden but by the time I got home it was grey, cold and a chill wind, when leaving Edinburgh city centre it was totally rammed with people either shopping for Christmas or visiting the Christmas Fair that has just started up in the last week along with tourists thronging the thoughfare's and clogging them to the point of congestion but they all looked as if they were enjoying it anyway so then St Andrews Day today I wore my Saltire Flag pin badge on my uniform today as normally we are not allowed and badges on our uniform apart from 1 union badge with usually how many years service or we are allowed to wear a poppy one for rememberence Sunday as well although I do sneak the odd other one on now and again you could say a bit of a rebel and a few people wished me a Happy St Andrews Day which was very nice of them indeed and I was hoping my copy of The Scottish Governments White Paper had arrived but alas it hasn't yet but at work there has been many a lively debate from the no,yes and undecided camp and when I have been at home I have been combing the internet as well as watching TV debates and other programmes dedicated to the Vote next year so I can make an informed choice in my vote, anyway I was watching one show on Channel 5 I Player watching the Wright show in the morning this time hosted by Richard Madely who is better known as one part of Richard and Judy anyway watching the show and seeing the comments thread of the show afterwords he certainly helped the Yes Campaign with his comments about not being happy Subsidising Scotland with His Money and Taxes well it was like a red rag to a bull that statement and really he should have checked out his facts before doing so as the show got pelters as much as I would like to chip in I won't although this is like a diary to me I'm not on here to preach to myself but from the information I have just found in the last few days alone on the internet it certainy looks like that if a No vote takes place that the UK Government are going to the reformulate the Barnett Formula to the point where Nothern Ireland will lose 9% of the block grant they get at the moment, Wales will stay pretty much the same and Scotland will lose a Whopping 16% which works out at 3.6bn from our Block Grant as the article in the Guardain Newspaper said ther was a 4bn shortfall in English Councils so it will be very interesting to see what happens over the next 10 months before the vote, on a cheerier note as I was typing this up my delivery of 6 Blipfoto Calendars have arrived so I can bore my family with some of my photos with them as stocking fillers lol as they usually hope I don't visit there house with my holiday snaps oh goody as after recently being told off by in-laws about not having 2 holidays a year where infact I have only been away once this year I decided stuff it and booked a log cabin in the Trossachs near Loch Lubnaig north of Callander with a wood burning stove and a out door hot tub I will call them to tell them how much I'm enjoying my second trip away this year even if it's only and hour and twenty minutes North of my house I will still enjoy it hopefully it won't be attacked by some weird bush family that have neve seen the light of the day so for a week in December I may be out of communicado as I don't know what type of Internet facility they have so you may have to wait foive days or so for me to post them anyway that's it for today tomorrow I travel on an East Coast train to York via Carlisle as a passenger then jump on another passenger train to Leeds then Drive my train from Leeds to Berwick-Upon-Tweed then a taxi from Berwick back to Edinburgh so a longish day although only around 2hrs 15 minutes driving is involved once again I do hope you all have a Happy St Andrews Day whether it's in Scotland or anywhere else in the world as it's the greatest country on the planet as far as I'm concerned now then movie for the day is "Whisky Galore 1949" Always looks good LARGE See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.