Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Just a Jaunt

I think, by mentioning the ‘exciting day tomorrow’ I have led you all up the garden path. After lynx, polar bears, eagle owls and more of late, you were thinking - elephants? Yeti? The Loch Ness Monster?

But no, it was just a jaunt. It was Uncle A’s birthday and we had planned to go out for lunch to North Berwick if the weather was fine. And it was. Glorious. But chilly. In fact, I learned a new word - snell (def: keen, piercing, grievous, severe. You get the picture.)

Uncle A has been driving for some weeks now, but has not had a willing passenger until today. He drives with one hand, which is a bit disconcerting, and my untrained physiotherapy exercise suggestion of moving his left hand up the steering wheel a bit and using it to at least flick the indicator was quietly ignored. Then he did do it much later, but I noticed.

The countryside was at its best. As we came along and Tantallon Castle came into view I yelled at asked Uncle A to stop and pull over (when it was safe to do so, or course) as I wanted a blip. I had to walk back a bit to get the island in view, and in fact had to sneak into the back yard of a farm, stand in a big pile of I-don’t-know-what to get this shot. But I should have maybe climbed a couple of fences and moved round a bit, to get the whole island in...

We went on into North Berwick and had a nice fish and chip lunch, then a wander round the harbour where the snell wind did its best to hurry us back to car. With fudge.

We came home the coast road and it was just fabulous. Home in time to get the washing in and read a bit of my book before it gets dark.

While it might not have been exciting, it was a grand day.

Happy Birthday Uncle A!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.