Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Indoor day

Whoa! The idyllic autumn suddenly came to an end last night and this morning! Big storm.

But the glaziers arrived at the crack of dawn and set to, undaunted. I had been expecting a cancellation phone call. The first lad looked like Jack Whitehall - cute with a dark beard. Then the second one looked like young Jack as well. But they busied themselves, measuring and moving things.

However, ten minutes later, they were daunted. They couldn't cut the boards out in the street. They abandoned the idea and will come tomorrow.

So there I was, ready for action, at 8am. I popped back to bed for a while and read my book caught up on the gossip of Nigella Lawson’s trial. I had planned to get out of the (boarded up) house and go to the pictures. But then I had a better idea. TV. I could catch up with all those ‘Good Wife’ episodes.

So an indoor blip was searched for. I didn’t have to search far. I was making some (expensive) toast anyway. This is a corner of the kitchen, with the ridiculously expensive machine which only does one thing - ie slightly burn pieces of bread. And the coffee machine which only does one thing as well, but is clever!

I had some fun doing it, as I used my iPad and the remote wifi feature.

The window men have just rung and made it Tuesday. I wondered at their suggestion of Friday. Always loved the Edinburgh tradition of schools closing at midday on Fridays. But really, many businesses don’t get much done on a Friday afternoon anyway.

Right. Sofa set up, TV at the ready, coffee and toast to hand. The wind can blow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.