West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Four Season in a Day

From the wee small hours the storms raged; winds peaking at over 100 miles per hour a little further north and the rain, goodness the rain was horizontal. I left just on 5a.m. I suspect I was the first car away from our little village today, the visibility almost nil, the wind buffeting the car, the roads littered with debris, fallen trees and the nothingness of the darkness. The storm continued to rage throughout the morning until then almost as quickly as it arrived the winds died, the clouds lifted and there was sun.... The eye of the storm, within an hour the winds were back, the flecks of snow whistling across in front of the windscreen as I sat alone with my thoughts. Four seasons in a day right enough, like the old Scots adage, if you don't like the weather just wait 15 minutes and its bound to change!!!

Today's shot is on the esplanade in Greenock, The Splash as it is affectionately known. the river angry, the sky angrier. Here you see the cranes of the container terminal and the white snow filled clouds beyond the sign that the seasons have changed. As I ventured onto the deserted promenade I could hardly keep my feet and rattled off a few frames from a low prospective to try and get that feeling of depth and emptiness, the line of a song came into my head "like an out of season holiday town in the rain" This is a place of bustle, a place of pleasure filled with people I do not remember ever seeing it without a person or a car in sight.

I spoke with my friend later in the day, she too had been by the sea although many many miles away and very spookily she recited the same line about her dalliance from work to me as we spoke. The song, full of irony is called "Fatal Hesitation" and describes the situation perfectly.

The cafes are all deserted, the streets are wet again,
There's nothing quite like an out of season holiday town,
In the rain,
When the tourists go and the cold winds blow,
And my girl is on a plane, home...

I'm never going to love another, the way that I have loved you,
It's taken me a little time to discover it,
Now I know it's true, but fatal hesitation,
Made me miss the show,

Oh Romeo is standing in the rain,
And I know that I have let her slip away,
Fatal hesitation, fatal hesitation

I saw you again this morning, walking down the beach,
And though you are a thousand miles away,
You were only just out of reach, but when I got up close,
And I saw her face, I knew it couldn't be so, no, no;

Oh Romeo is standing in the rain,
And I, yes I know, I have let her slip away,
Fatal hesitation, fatal hesitation,
I'm going to get on my boat and sail away;

Oh Romeo is standing in the rain,
And I, yes I know, I have let her slip away,
Fatal hesitation,
Fatal hesitation,
Fatal hesitation,
Fatal hesitation


A haunting lyric, a haunted soul, an out of season holiday town in the rain... I hope you enjoy the desolation that the storms brought and I hope wherever you are tonight, you are safe with the ones you love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.