EmmaBattrick

By MamaOfBoys

Marleys Monday

Marley had his ADOS ( Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule) assessment today at Hillmorton. He was so good. He talked and talked in the waiting room to the psychologist fleur then when he went in things got a little difficult.

I wasn't allowed to give any input only translation of words if they didn't understand them. They got him to do a few things like pretend play, story telling etc. What they were looking for was eye contact, initiation of play, response to directions, conversation with the psychologist etc etc. There were a few things he struggled with and there were a couple things he said that I knew what he was talking about but they didn't and I couldn't explain it so to a stranger it sounds odd.

Towards the end he wanted to be close to me, he was starting to get anxious.

An hour and a half later it finished and he was so tired so I didn't send him back to school.

We're going to get results this week so it will be good to know.

My beautiful boy I can feel his anxiety and I understand him. I want to help him more I wish I could always be around to explain what he's talking about I think people would find he's an intelligent little boy with a love of construction.

He's such a sweet heart and he's an awesome wee boy it would break my heart if it comes back he has aspergers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.