Croft16

By Croft16

Submarine..

..this is a fake submarine that was constructed by the Royal Engineers during the second world war. It is one of many such structures erected to confuse U-boat captains. This is one that was never actually fired upon, and so remains in it's original state.

We stopped off on our way from Sheffield to Dunfermline, and it's somewhere on the North coast North or Newcastle. Don't ask me where, because I have little knowledge of this part of the country. So little knowledge that after driving 10 miles from the A1, I had to retrace my route to get back on it again, and then finding out that the place we stopped at was signposted a few miles away after we had traveled some distance back up the A1.. I had a map on my laptop, and should have looked at it. Not used to doing the A1 all the way to Edinburgh, normally taking the A68 through Dalkeith, Melrose and Jedburgh..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.