From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

It's been the ruin of many a poor boy....

I usually go into work on a Wednesday but not today! I am such an unsociable old bag, it's a miracle I have lasted here on Blipfoto so long and have made proper friends, some of whom I have met too. *note to self - stick to the point, Roz* Anyway, I had to laugh as I always keep my phone up to date and got an alarm in the middle of last Monday saying 'BOOK WEDNESDAY THE 18TH OFF OR WORK FROM HOME!!!' I hadn't written a reason but I occasionally always follow my own instructions so I had done so.

Yesterday, I was sent an email asking 'Are you coming to the office Christmas buffet tomorrow?' I spent ages thinking of a tactful, pleasant response with a decent excuse why I wouldn't. Actually I didn't, although I was going to say 'I'd rather have all my teeth removed without an anaesthetic.' which is what I usually say. However, after having eaten all those little chocolate gingerbread men yesterday, I thought I'd be wishing evils on myself and decided to keep it brief and say 'NO!'. I did type in massive, red capital letters though to avoid any misinterpretation of my response. I ignored the 'Are you sure?' which came back 5 minutes later.

Urrrrggghhh! Seriously, standing around with a floppy paper plate of various items of food while making small talk with people I'd jump into shop doorways/bushes/over walls/in churches/on to passing buses - yes really! - to avoid in the High Street at lunchtime is not my idea of fun. A few years ago, I went to see 'Love Actually' at 11am at the cinema in Touchwood to avoid the office buffet. It wasn't a bad film I suppose. Bill Nighy was good in it as the ageing musician. My favourite line from him was 'Kids! Don't buy drugs. Become a rock star and get them for free!' Anyway, my two office pals who I sit nearest were also absent today. One was taking one of his sons to hospital for a check up and the other was on a speed awareness course after exceeding the limit by about 4 miles per hour. I hasten to add here that I don't think either of the other two were absent deliberately, unlike me....

I was listening to the radio as per usual while working away in my office front room, Danny Kelly was playing a load of waste of time '999' calls. ('911' in the States?) The one elderly lady rang the police to ask for the number of the prime minister as she wanted to tell him what a good job he was doing and also that he was her kind of man. Sometimes, I really do think I'm in the wrong job. I'd love to be telling people what to do with their strange requests!

Track? Well there wasn't much of a rising sun today after the very brief bright start as the rain moved in quickly but here's an old classic from The Animals - House Of The Rising Sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.