A Christmas Treat

Every year we like to so something as a special family treat around Christmas time, whether it's the theatre, cinema or visits to magical forests.

This year we'd booked to go and see the Lion King at the Edinburgh Playhouse. The Lion King is one of my favourite Disney films. It was released when I was 13, almost 20 years ago. I own both the film and the soundtrack, know the dialogue inside out and know every word to every song.

Those of you that know me also know that I don't handle it very well when people change details. You didn't even want to be near me when the first LOTR film was released. So today was always going to be interesting...

The opening sequence was spectacular. Very well done indeed - worth going for that alone. I could handle the additional songs and a Glaswegian Zazu, but adding in completely new (and disturbing) scenes, mixing up the order of events and changing the words to a well-loved song? I'm not so sure about that!

Overall, I thought it was a spectacular production and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. But the actor's words could have been better enunciated and they didn't need to make some of their changes. Still, well worth a visit - I'd recommend it!

Wesley and I are now in the back of my parent's car, heading home to the Borders for Christmas!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.