AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

In the wars

No, not really. But I have been to see the doctor today. Unfortunately not The Doctor, but I live in hope. I'm not at all sure about Peter Capaldi, but then I wasn't keen on Matt Smith at the start, or David Tennant. Foolish woman.

And I've ended up liking Clara almost as much as I liked Rose.

Anyway back to the point. My doctor. And a nurse. I sat for 40 minutes after the time of my appointment - only I seemed concerned that being so late for one would make me miss the other. The nurse was very kind, friendly and chatty and we had a laugh as she cut open my arm. Thank goodness for local anaesthetic phew.

The doctor, not so much. To be fair, it was almost 5pm and my appointment had been for 4.20, so he may have been a little peeved. And I came out of his office with tennis elbow and swimmer's ear. Makes me sound really athletic doesn't it lol.

I do swim (though it concerns me a bit that I haven't swum in a week and yet, when I speak, I can still hear myself inside my head), but I haven't picked up a tennis racquet in years. I tried it once, in school, but I was a badminton player, so I could never hit the tennis ball hard enough to get it over the net ;-)

So, my treatment is as follows:

- For the tennis elbow (even though the painful bit isn't where tennis elbow's painful bit usually is), look up some YouTube videos. If they don't work, send a form (which he tossed across the desk to me) to York Hospital.

- For the swimmer's ear (after briefly examining one ear, once I'd mentioned the words "itchy" and "swimming"), dry them with a hairdryer then add a little vaseline.

I knew I was tired, but have I slept through to April Fool's day?

x

ps apologies, perhaps I'm doing the doctor an injustice, but it just worries me when a healthcare professional asks me what I think is wrong. Surely, that's why I'm here to see a doctor?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.