Learning day by day

By EmmaF

The Watch

Carys had a haircut this morning, all of about 1cm! But it meant we were up and out. Not as early as a Daddy who had an early GP's appointment which resulted in being sent for more bloods, handy as we could drop him on the way to the hairdressers and pick him up on the way back.

So back for lunch and for Jim to have a rest. Later Jim looked after W while C and I had some girls time. We did some jobs in town, picked up my new steam cleaner and went to the library. Chatted to a lovely librarian who gave me a website that will give me ideas for books that might interest Carys and she showed Carys a book they keep behind the desk that links authors and genres and told her to ask for it any time she came in. We both left happy, plus Carys borrowed another 10 books!

Then to the watch. I promised C that when she can tell the time I will buy her a watch. Well she is nearly there, but not near enough, however a shop in town is closing down and has 25% off, so we went to look. She knew the three rules: 1)no pink, 2)no animals and 3) no wearing it until we agree she can tell the time to our satisfaction. She also knew that if there wasn't a suitable watch, we wouldn't buy just any old watch and would wait and choose one when the time is right. As it was there were two that she and I liked. This is the one she ultimately chose, it is purple with a pale blue strap (it is prettier than it looks). She was bouncing with excitement leaving the shop and has doubled her efforts at telling me the time.

Then we went for a coffee, because that what girls do and because we had had a big bust up yesterday and I wanted to talk to her about it. So once we were settled I started by asking what she thought I could do better as a Mummy because this was the first time I had been a Mummy so I am still learning. This lead to a lovely open conversation about what we could both try and do for things to be better, "after all this is the first time I have been a big sister Mummy." I was also told that even if she had another Mummy that I would still be the best Mummy and that she really did love me. What more could you ask for? I only hope to keep open the channels of communication as she grows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.