LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

You Gave Me Magical

For the first time on our 12 years together me and Jen spent the passing of the bells and Edinburgh's fine firework display together (not counting the couple of times I have been drinking in The Dome as the bells pas and I maybe see her from a distance). In fact it was such a surprise occurrence that it took me a minute or so of snapping the fireworks before I realised that not only I wasn't on my own but I had someone worth kissing. At which point Jen nudged me and was obviously thinking the same.

So we sat on a park bench at Elm Row for a good 45 minutes maybe more. Drinking a bottle of Prosecco out of plastic tumblers, saying happy new year to people walking by, quietly taking the piss out of some of the other people walking by and avoiding the people walking by who were quite obviously about to hurl. One highlight had to be a wee girl shouting out "I'm a very excitable, very impressionable little person. Happy New Year!". We declined to ask her if she had drugs for sale in case we offended.

We watched the somewhat twee tartan biscuit tin Edinburgh's Hogmanay program, snuggled over the Biffy Clyro song (interrupted by the cat), and then flicked between the Glasto highlights and Youtube revisiting some of our favourite tunes. It was past 4AM by the time we went to bed, very naughty as Jen was at work at 10AM (ahem, 11Am as it turned out).

For my part I was up and about as Jen left, not feeling to bad overall and then about 2 in the afternoon I started to sober up and felt pretty awful. By 7:30PM (having managed to make mince and stuff sausages and do a small amount of the housework) I had to hit the sofa for some TV, FIFA13 and wine. I still didn't make it to bed until nearly 2AM.

Resolutions? Apart from the same old drink less, smoke less, go to the gym? I resolve to make sure that 2014 is better than any of the past few years, which have all had some rather large helpings of shit plopped on top of them. Not sure how I'm going to achieve it but if I'm still drinking too much, still smoking too much and still out of breath at the top of the stairs but look back and see 365 days that each contained some ray of happiness at the end of 2014 I won't really mind. If they don't, at least I will be able to look back and say it started with a kiss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.