2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Surgical Assessment Unit.

Today I am blipping from a hospital bed, in the incredible tender care of the greatest health service in the world.
This all started yesterday and got steadily worse to the point of needing medical attention.

The care, as always, is first class. The staff on the ward have been rushed off their feet all night.

But I have not been left to my own devices.
Blood samples at 2 am and X ray at 3 am meant the doctor had as full a picture as possible when he saw me this morning.

It is beyond my comprehension why our wonderful NHS take so much horrible behaviour when they are trying to help people.

Security were called to remove a relative who objected to the care being given.

Another wretched soul had 2 police officers with them at X ray. Of course it is highly possible that person was a victim rather than perpetrator.

Another man spent ten minutes swearing at another patient and staff then couldn't hear his name because he had his music so loud!

They got to me with 12 minutes to spare on the "target time". I didn't need a target time. I needed treatment and I knew it would come.

But I am not as ill as the person who needed a blood transfusion, and I would hate for that person to have been left to get to me just to meet a target!

I have no idea how the NHS staff deal with so much and remain calm, dignified and humorous in the circumstances they deal with on a daily basis.

But I am so pleased they do.

The doctor has seen me this morning and a ct scan will be done at some point, but I should be able to go home this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.