Sam73

By Sam73

Derby College

Not immediately obvious, granted. The lit stairwell caught my eye on New Year's Eve as we drove back from the best fish and chip shop in Derby (going off on a tangent and an entirely different 365 opportunity). So I decided to venture over to the College tonight to see if I could capture what I saw.

I'm not very experienced with night shots and still getting to grips with my new camera. So as I stood in the pitch black against the wire mesh fencing of the tennis court, squinting at the menu options, it proved to be a real learning process to find the right effect.

I was there long enough to realise that the lighting at the top of the stairwell changes colour so then followed deliberation over which colour I wanted, just as well I wasn't in a rush. For me this photo screams "first foot on the ladder" and the potential for bright and colourful futures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.