Lured to Falkirk

Michael and I went on a bit of a day trip to Falkirk today, lured by the chance of seeing a mythical water horse. As it turns out, luck was on our side and we spotted Mr and Mrs Kelpie (known as Marjory and Rupert to their friends).

It possibly wasn't the best of days for it, but we'd made a plan and we decided to go with it, wind and rain and all. It is said that a water horse is a common form of the kelpie, said to lure humans into the water to drown them. I have to admit, as we went up the wrong side of the canal, we were tempted for a dip rather than walking all the way back to get round to the right side. Almost.

After visiting Marjory and Rupert, we decided to explore the Falkirk Wheel too. I cannot tell you how excited I was at seeing mini effigies of them at the wheel. I don't mind telling you that Rupert got a wee kiss from me!

We're now sat in the car eating fish and chips overlooking the Forth Rail Bridge. Perfect.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.