MaryannA

By MaryannA

Cardinal Rules!

I must live below a flight pattern of many different birds. They come and go in flocks and fly all around this area. Sometimes they touch down and sometimes they just soar through the sky landing high in the treetops and swiftly taking flight again. Last night I threw out some day old rolls for the birds and squirrels as it was so frigid. I also was hoping to get some blipshots.

When I got up this morning three blue jays were on the deck eating away. I got a shot, but scared them off. I then turned to the side window and noticed the cardinal sunning himself (top right) in the pines. He moved around the branches, but stayed for a long time and I took several good ones. I decided on a collage as I liked the background shot even though it is blurred; it has a stained glass look to it. Then the shot of him in the center, he is looking right at me! The bottom was just before taking flight!

I almost forgot, remember the bread I threw out there? Around 1:00 everyday, the crows fly over and around the house. They sniffed out the bread and I suddenly saw about six or so crows flying down onto the deck and grabbing at the pieces. Before I could get a shot, they scattered quickly. They are so big; they kinda scared me a little bit coming so close. Guess I will not use the deck for feeding animals anymore. I'll get a feeder and put it where I can observe safely. Zoom lens gets me close enough!

I thought it was Sunday as the weekend has seemed endless with the holiday and the storm happening. Now I know it is Saturday, I can look forward to Sunday again! "The endless weekend"... I'm retired! Life is an endless weekend everyday for me! (except for appointments ~ then I pop back into reality and Monday through Friday happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.