Angelique

By Angelique

" I Can Fly Higher than an Eagle ? ....)

Well probably not, but it's not every day I get the opportunity to take a photo of a Buzzard. We were coming back from our near neighbouring village, Monksilver, down the hill as I do every day from work and there, perched on the top of a telegraph pole, was this wonderful sight.

I am still testing out my new camera, and apologise that it's rather grainy, but he was over 30 metres away and I was stationary in the middle of the road with hazards flashing. I didn't dare move forward because he would have flown away. Fortunately, for the first time ever, there was no traffic either way. I know that the females have smaller tails but not sure whether this specimen is long or short. If I had to guess I would say it was a male.

When we see them flying, they have amazing markings underneath their large wings which look like big circles. They use these to frighten their prey and make a loud mewing sound to flush small mammols out of their hiding.

It's quite often I see them on the telegraph poles as I go down into the village and I remember once coming back from work in my MX5 with the top down and each time I approached the pole, the buzzard would fly off and settle on the next pole down. On the third pole, he was really miffed and as he set off, he did a large 'splash', just missing me in the car!!

Sadly I dont have that car any more, driving something more sensible on most days and especially on these roads.

Been a strange day, more like a Sunday. Everyone very quiet, lethargic almost, perhaps getting over the New Years celebrations! Either way, the weather has been very dull and lifeless maybe that didn't help. More rain forecast for tomorrow. Oh joy.

We watched a DVD this evening with Matty that I bought for Mr A for his birthday. An old film called Vantage Point with Dennis Quaid. If you haven't seen it, get it or rent it. It is brilliant with lots of believable action, for a change.

Hope you've all enjoyed your Saturday, not been flooded or taken over by the super bug that seems to be invading us all.

Sleep well, my fellow blippers, or in the case of Mr Schorschi, stay warm as you wander in the night!

Keep safe, and until we 'meet again' - THANKYOU.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.