Strange Days

It's been a strange couple of days. Yesterday, I received two texts from my friends in our little group of Mums who meet up every week. One friend texted to announce the birth of baby number two (a little brother for their 2 year old girl), and the other was my friend telling us that her brother had died. He'd been in a motorbike accident back in July, and had been hanging on since then. Still don't know the full story, but I feel so much for her. I know only too well what it is like to grieve after the loss of Mam in August, but for her mother, the loss of a child, however old they are, should never be something one has to go through.

Today we had a busy time. This morning we went across to Consett to meet friends at a soft play centre. We had to pass through Weardale (or Wierd-dale as it is commonly known locally to those from outside the valley). This sign appeared there several months ago. There used to be a triangular sign with a werewolf on it too, but I think someone must have half-inched it. It still makes me laugh every time I drive across that moor, though it lends it an even greater similarity to the setting at the start of An American Werewolf in London...

This afternoon Grace went to her friend Sebastian's second birthday party. We also had a visit here from my sister and her husband, who did some kite flying to show Grace this evening. A busy day. Still not seen the new baby, as my friend is understandably too exhausted for any more visitors. Hope to see them later this week.

Backblipped for yesterday too: What a difference (almost) a year makes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.