Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Always sexier in fishnets

Okay: fish nets...
I could have had fun with that title if groynes were spelt "groins"...

Things are looking a bit different at Crow Point. There's lots of debris and the dunes have been pushed back - or in places completely opened up. It's a scary thought really that so much of Braunton is on a flood plain and the water is winning a little bit more every year recently.
It wasn't the most pleasant walk. My eyes were stung by flying sand, and I wasn't feeling very strong. I said something to Richard like I might be built like a brick shithouse but I didn't feel like one. He said I wasn't a brick shithouse... which was nice...

We're knackered today. Stress and bad nights have taken their toll. And there's been far too much mental activity recently - especially for Richard. He really doesn't like mental activity. We both just want an easy life: lots of daftness, food, drink, crap TV, walks, plenty of fresh air and sleep.
As Billy Joel says:
"I don't want clever conversation. I never want to work that hard"
(any excuse to quote Billy Joel. Apart from Uptown Girl - I can't stand that song)

We're feeling a lot lighter. Things have happened to make things a tiny weeny bit better today, and I'm not saying what. It's better enough though. I don't have to worry so much about Richard giving himself a heart attack with all his worrying. I told him yesterday that if he died of a heart attack because of worrying about money I'd never forgive him.

I have ulcers all over my tongue and that bruised feeling you get when you haven't been sleeping enough, so I'm ready for a not stressing totally period.

In other news: yesterday we had a magic thing installed that does something clever. It started working when the sun came out today. It's to do with solar power and the hot water tank. I heard it working and was proper excited. I love stuff like that.

And magic.

I've just been listening to them talking about "looking at the A ring" and "looking at the B ring" on BBC's Star Gazing programme.
Is it just me?

Snigger.

Thank for the nice comments here and elsewhere yesterday. We will survive. Winter is difficult when you have a holiday business. It seems to have got harder since so many local houses have turned into private holiday homes. But Easter and Bank Holidays and Summer always come around again and pay the mortgage and the credit card bill - so hopefully we'll be okay. I said to Richard recently that when we get on well we're invincible. I think it's true.


*dons black eye mask and swishes cape before flying off to drink wine and watch The 7.39 with Mr Off Centre (<- ooh, that sounds wrong...)*




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.