Special treats

And then I hit the ground running.

After a week off, I returned to find numerous papers left on my desk for me to read, a pile of papers in my pigeonhole, the majority of which were filed under "b" (for bin, or b****cks - you choose!) and a certain degree of devastation in my normally tidy classroom.

Great start to the day - watched a performance by a group of performing arts students from the local FE college - the performance was part of a day of workshops and activities under the heading of "Be safe be cool" - to do with sex, drugs, alcohol, bullying, peer pressure. Our students responded really well, the performance was outstanding, both in terms of content and execution and it was a great way to get me back into the swing of things.

Taught four more lessons, dealt with a couple of issues and went to SMT meeting which was productive and focussed - I sensed maybe an undercurrent of something I might have missed whilst absent, but no matter, if it makes for productive meetings I am all for it!

Home for homemade lasagne (prepped yesterday - get me!) and salad and then I have just "whipped together" a batch of sixty of these beauties...white chocolate and chocolate orange cookies - yes - they are big chunks of white chocolate....non of your uniform sized chocolate chips in our cookies - they are rough chunks all the way! These biccies are great - they are kind of like chocolate brownies in texture and they actually get better after 24 hours, but resisting the urge to eat them for that long is tricky.

A number have already been consumed. Some are to take to work for our meeting tomorrow and to give to the girls in the office as a treat (they like these cookies).

Anyway, work to do - merits to put onto our rewards system, and some reading that needs doing (in the shed, with a cuppa!)

Still slightly dizzy, but you know, in some respects that actually made me quite chilled out today...

And I got a few "yay Miss you're back" and even a surprising "thank God you're back, I'll get some work done now you are" from one of the students :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.