Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

The body

The body heals with play,
the mind heals with laughter
and the spirit heals with joy.
Proverb


So, today I'm healed body, mind and spirit. :)
I've had a bit of language trouble today, though. I've been asked for translations of words from English to Swedish, words I usually know… and my mind just go BLANK. Nothing...nada…zilch…zero… You get the picture, right? And the more I try, the more zilch I get…
Usually I mix a bit of English, Swedish, Kurdish and Arabic when I'm speaking to my friends… and 'temam' is one of these words. It means 'ok' in Arabic and Kurdish, so it's rather convenient to use when teaching Swedish. Today I learned that 'temam' doesn't mean 'ok' in Persian… I said 'temam' to one of the younglings I teach and he looked surprised at me an said 'Enough?' No, no… 'ok'. I've recently learned that 'enough' in Arabic is 'Khalas' which is a good word to know! So that 'temam' means 'enough' in Persian and 'ok' in Arabic and Kurdish… it's a bit confusing… :D I think I need to learn the word for 'ok' in Persian now… And that word will certainly mean something totally different in Arabic and Kurdish… Hopefully it's nothing offending! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.