Indy653

By Indy653

Sunday Night Fajitas

"Food, love, career, and mothers, the four major guilt groups."
Cathy Guisewite

As a child in 50's Glasgow my diet was fairly routine. We had fish twice a week when the fish van came, mince every Monday and regular macaroni and cheese. A lot of sliced tongue and spam was consumed for lunch. If I was ever off school, no matter what the ailment, Mum made me baked haddock cooked in milk with mashed potatoes. Lots of homemade lentil/ham and chicken/rice soup and apple and rhubarb tarts. I remember as a teenager when Vesta curries appeared and Mum and I felt very exotic consuming them - Dad didn't like anything spicy and would have a poached egg instead.

We had chicken fajitas tonight and curry on Friday. Is our diet better, or merely different? Not sure. We live in one of the best areas in the country for fish - yet we probably only buy it about once a month.

Horrible weather here today and have spent some time reading 'The Fault in our Stars' by John Green and loving it. I've eventually given up on 'Room' by Emma Donoghue which was our book club read but which I hated. I've met two other member who also loathed it yet all the reviews are 5 star - I'm becoming increasingly sceptical about the 'closed shop' aspect of literary reviews!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.