Trail running comfort

On Boxing Day, I ran a 7 mile trail run around the Loch. And almost immediately after taking my trail shoes off, I got another black toenail. Now, I don't mind having black toenails, you get used to it being a runner, but my toes were so so sore after 7 miles and that just ain't right!

So I promptly ordered some new trail shoes in the sale. The old ones were bought years ago when I didn't really have a clue about trail running (not that I know masses more now mind you). Anyway I did a bit of research and being a big Brooks fan anyway, opted for a pair of Brooks Cascadias. They came weeks ago and they felt fine when I tried them on in the house.

I'm running the Forfar multi terrain half marathon on 2 February, and I suddenly realised today that I hadn't tried the new shoes out. Finishing work slightly earlier than usual today, I managed to head out to Arthur's Seat while there was still some daylight. It got dark really quickly so I only ran 5k, but it was just a test run (and this was over and above my running schedule so I'll forgive the small mileage).

Holy trail running comfort, Batman, those shoes are amazing! I love them. Supportive and comfy and plenty of room in the front for even my gangly toes. I did get them a tad muddy though!

Today's run: 3 miles
January running mileage: 53 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.