WeeDragon

By WeeDragon

Hungry Blackbird

This the dominant female blackbird of my garden. She will have a stand-off with the pigeons to who get's first helpings. And a bit of a stand-off with me too today, watching suspiciously what I was doing with camera close to feeding ground and just standing there, and she was just standing there on the steps watching. Me talking to the blackie to re-assure her I just wanted her photo or two on the feeder. Neighbours know I'm crazy ;-).

She is also the tamest of the birds entering my garden. A lot are very timid and the neighbourhood cats don't help when it's birds count day.

Last year she nested in my flowering current, but lost the wee ones to cats and the fox took the rest.

I know there is a bird of prey, I think it's a sparrowhawk, buzzards fly overhead, but not seen them in the garden, but only find the pigeon feathers as leftovers.

And now that I'm on the computer, all the birds will be going forth to the feeders!

A happy day being absorbed watching the birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.