Well, don't ask me !

OK Doctor Samuel Johnson, making sourdough wasn't your thing.

I went into Lichfield this morning to catch up on a few chores (taking my iPod dock back for repairs and a few other routine bits) and I called into a very expensive emporium, The Kitchen Shop.

I knew that if anyone had proving baskets for sourdough, they would. And they did. But it looked just like an ordinary bit of wicker and they wanted £19 for it. My fruit bowl and tea-towel may well be OK if I can master the technique. The charming shop manager told me that Duncan at the local prize winning bakery uses them.

So I called into Hindley's bakery (on last year's Best British Bakery where they won their heat). Duncan wasn't around. They didn't have any sourdough either - "Try Thursday or Friday".....

Meanwhile, I'm awaiting the verdict from my sister and her family on the loaf I gave her yesterday. This one was far better than the binned Frisbees - and I hope I'm learning.

If I manage it, Dr Johnson, I'll throw you a bit up there as you look rather fed up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.