Bell a’Phuill’s House

Another historical blip today as myself and blip friend went to Auchindrain. This is Bell a’Phuill’s House. occupied by Isabella McCallum from the 1850s to 1915. The Gaelic translation is 'Isabella who lives by the muddy place'

The thatching is renewed frequently using local rushes and every thing is as authentic as possible. I can imaging Isabella siting on this bench in the winter sunshine with her knitting or spinning. You can go inside most of the houses and I once had bannocks cooked on the old range in this township.

Auchindrain is a great place to visit if you are looking for some historical photos. We must have taken hundreds of shots between us. I like the simplicity of this shot and my imagination does the rest.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.