middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Lost Boat

For a day that seemed at the start like it would be easy and uneventful it turned into one that was busy and messy. I had one thing on my to do list today which was ride to my new university and pick up my student ID card. It was to be easy and fun and a bit exciting as it heralded the start of a new education and hopefully my new career.

I searched out a good bike path from my house to the VCA on St Kilda Road and was soon on my bike enjoying a lovely ride in. The day was warm without being too hot, the path I had was excellent as it was mostly made up of actually bike track and I was enjoying the physicality behind the riding. I was almost to the Uni when for no reason that I could tell, my bike broke. The rear wheel seemed to snap at the axle when I simply pushed it into motion after waiting at a red light. The wheel hung in there but was incredibly wobbly as it swayed between the brake pads, rendering it basically unridable. I nevertheless slowly half rode half scootered it the rest of the way, locked it up and then visited the student centre and picked up my ID card.

Over lunch I searched for any nearby bike repair places on my phone and found surprisingly few. Left with little choice I ended up decided to just try walking it the 12kms home, and so I did. Thanks to having my iPod loaded with an audiobook the long walk wasn't to0 frustrating but it was extremely hot and by the time I made it home I was drenched in sweat. However as I did get myself and my bike home I consider it a success. This blip was taken on the walk home and is of a rather impressive old boat found near south wharf.

The day picked up as Holly and I went to Jon's house to see him and my cousin Frances who was visiting and we all had a very enjoyable night together.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.