Edible world

By RawAppetite

Snack attack - fruit & nut canon balls

I always get asked about healthy snacks. It seems every other person frets about them. It's a bit of a mystery to me, since if you eat a decent meal at the right time for yourself, the snacking habit just fades - unless you're bored or procrasinating (that probably explains it).

I'm a simple fruit & nut person myself as its eminently convenient & simple. I had to cajole myself into making these in order to build up a stock of recipes I could confidently recommend to others.

They are a mashed up version of fruit & nut (soak everything and then mix to a paste in the food processor). Play around with some complimentary spices. As this mix was based on apples, I added cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and allspice. Finished off with a roll in an assortment of coconut, sesame and cacao powder. They are pretty dense in natural sweetness and fibre, so you'd be ready to go again after 2 or 3.

Now, I'm hoping to get some visitors to share them with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.