SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Water

It's amazing what you forget about when you live in an already beautiful city. I passed this part of town today and just had to stop the car and get out to take this picture. I'd forgotten all about it, and yet I used to work really close by. At least having this blip will help me remember it now.

I've chosen a poem by Ralph Waldo Emerson to go with it. It reminds me of the power of water to enhance and destroy in equal measure yet provide peace at the same time.

The water understands
Civilization well;
It wets my foot, but prettily,
It chills my life, but wittily,
It is not disconcerted,
It is not broken-hearted:
Well used, it decketh joy,
Adorneth, doubleth joy:
Ill used, it will destroy,
In perfect time and measure
With a face of golden pleasure
Elegantly destroy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.