Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Goodbye Edinburgh!

OR

BUS CHALLENGE NO 4!

(No, I didn't travel my bus from Edinburgh to Bath, but I did take the bus from Bristol Airport!!)

Awoke to see the West Country on the news being battered once again by vicious storms, but for us blue skies! How lucky were we?!! A spot of early morning shopping on the Royal Mile before a tour of Mary King's Close, the only sight that I wouldn't recommend from my trip to Edinburgh. The history was interesting, but the guide was shocking! He'd obviously had to learn a script but his acting was poor and he kept forgetting his words!!

A quick visit to Parliament House, and the hidden gem that is the 17th century Parliament Hall, with its dramatic hammerbeam roof, before an interesting visit to the Writers' Museum, tucked away in the picturesque Makars' Court. On to the eerie Greyfriars Kirk to learn about the moving story of Greyfriars Bobby before a delicious warming lunch of Veggie Haggis and Mustard Mash at Mum's Diner (thoroughly and deliciously recommended!!).

Our last port of call was The National Museum of Scotland in Chambers Street. With hindsight, I wish we'd visited this wonderful museum earlier in the week, as, by the end of our whistle-stop tour of Edinburgh, we just didn't have the energy to do justice to this collection. I shall just have to go back another time!

As we made our way to the Airport Bus on Waverley Bridge, the clouds started to gather, the wind picked up and the first rain of our stay started to fall. As I said before, how lucky were we?!! Four days of fine weather! Edinburgh, I'll be back!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.