Skyline Drive

As you may have seen from yesterday's blip, I (Annie) had a slight hiccup in my plans to get to San Francisco for a holiday. We finally set off successfully after a 20 hour delay and a good flight later we finally landed at SFO. The flight crew made an announcement on landing that we'd flown quickly and even arrived 45 mins early, which made us all laugh wearily...

Picking up my hire car (with a spontaneous unrequested free upgrade from a sensible little Ford Focus to a ridiculous huge white Chrysler convertible), I followed my nose along the highways and then up into the hills and forests to Ben Lomond, near Santa Cruz, to stay with my lovely godparents for a few days.

The original plan had been to stay in the fabulous Inn Above Tide in Sausalito last night (a just brilliant place). What you should have seen in place of the plane yesterday was a sunset shot across the water to San Francisco. I'd have then rested some of the jet lag off, and arisen Zen Goddess-like to drive and sightsee today on my way to Ben Lomond. Instead, thanks to United, I landed tired, ruffled and flustered today. Ah well!

I took the Skyline drive south from San Francisco to Ben Lomond. It runs right along the San Andreas fault (straight from Geography textbooks). This has fabulous views across to the Pacific, San Francisco, Palo Alto and Stanford. Usually. Today, as you can see, it made for very interesting cloud layers!

Our blips will be posted at odd times as Chris and I collaborate and coordinate across timezones...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.