Back in the pool

Sometime around last August, I became so busy that I lost the time for running and swimming. I hate it when this happens because I suddenly I begin to feel a bit out of control. What was worse was that it was October before things calmed down sufficiently for me to start again. That's the longest break I've had since I was working in London in 2003.

Anyway, with winter evenings being a bit pants for running I decided to focus on my swimming and for three months I was swimming three times a week, which was great. I quickly built back up to a mile and my times began to go down.

Then, about three weeks ago, disaster struck. I had a particularly fine swim on the Wednesday evening, only to be hit by a cold the day after. Although that only lasted a few days, the cough persisted and it was only today that I felt really fit to swim again. And so I did.

It was, I must admit, hard work and I was about eighty seconds slower than last time I swam. But I felt bloody great afterwards. And the thing that I really love about swimming, which I don't get from running, is an incredible calm afterwards. Something to do with counting off the lengths, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.