The Shard from Waterloo East Station

One of London's newest landmarks as seen from the platform of Waterloo East on my way home from Reading. Despite the warning of disruption and flooding the journey was surprisingly straightforward, although the omens were not good first thing in the morning.

According to the website the 10.06 I was expecting to catch from Greenwich had been cancelled, so I had to get an earlier train. Driving up to Greenwich I hit a jam on the M20 owning to an accident at J5 and then heard on the radio that the traffic lights at a major junction in Greenwich were out of phase and causing long tailbacks.

So I went the long way around, along the M2 and still got in time to catch the earlier train. After that it was all plain sailing. Train from Greenwich on time, train to Reading was a lovely ride through sunshine. Quick walk through the town centre which looked good, quick meeting and then an uneventful journey home with the exception of another accident on the M20 where a continental truck had bumped a car at the junction with the M26.

I had a couple of shots to choose from, the one I've posted and the second which was of the station clock at Waterloo Station from the balcony looking down on the concourse with lots of people dotted around. A difficult choice.
All in all, a good day, awaiting the outcome....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.