But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Valleyfield View.

We gave the Blipfoto Exhibition a second showing at the Town Hall today and a young lady introduced herself as RomaWhaup, a lapsed blipper; she mentioned a follower who posted his watercolour sketches on Blip.
When I arrived home I had a quick look at her journal and, purely by chance, clicked on a comment by WillLlwynbedw and found myself confronted by a watercolour of ACyclingGranny standing by a familiar tree in Lake Wanaka, New Zealand. I came across Granny purely by chance a long time ago, I had logged on just after she had posted an entry and was intrigued by the thumbnail.

I'm interested in statistics and realise that coincidences are very common, if I were to mark six numbers on a piece of paper, it would be an incredibly unlikely occurrence for a machine to select the same six numbers; however, each week, a small number of people experience precisely this phenomenon by subscribing to various lotteries. Never-the-less. I found it a bit eerie that today, I should meet a lady I'd never heard of before, who, quite by chance, directed me to painting of a "virtual" friend on the other side of the world.

While the exhibition was on, I nipped out into the pouring rain and blipped this rather interesting house on the corner of Valleyfield View. It really does have a view of Valleyfield, a new housing estate built on the site of one of the paper mills for which Penicuik was famous. There are now a few Valleyfields scattered around the globe - the homes of settlers from the local papermaking industry.

I've just posted yesterday's "Snowdrops."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.