The Shore

My run home tonight after work took me through The Shore. How can you resist blipping these wonderful reflections. You can just see the sprinkling of rain on the water.

The Shore is the original port of Leith - the following sign there tells you a little but about the history:

"Tall masted sailing ships berthed at the Shore, while scores of crewmen loaded fish, coal, grain and hides for export to Northern Europe and the Mediterranean. Ships returned with wine, fruit, spices and cloth.

As ships grew too large for this shallow river mouth the harbour was moved north but the buildings on the Shore still show evidence of the old port.
"

I made spaghetti bolognese for my tea when I got home. It was delicious. It's the first thing I remember my mum teaching me to make when I was little. It will always be a favourite, the ultimate comfort food!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.