Ernest, the Encourager

Another day at the AOG...Debbi's Alternative Olympic Games.

Ernest the eagle was high on a pole in Sochi. I just had to interview him.

"Ernie...so glad to see you! What event are you entered in?"

"Please call me Ernest. I'm not in any event."

"Then what are you doing here?"

"You know how every American swells up when they see the national bird? That's why I'm here...to do my small part to encourage...to lift up...to spur our athletes on.

"Wow...Ern...that's very commendable. That touches me. So...what's your favorite event?"

"PLEASE CALL ME ERNEST! Let's see...I love all of the skiing events...of course the ski jump, and the luge."

"Anything else you like...Ernest?"

"I'd give a days supply of fish to get into the arena to watch the ladies ice skating tonight. Oh...how they soar...oh...how they jump. And...they're easy on the eyes...even my eagle eyes. You know what I'm saying Tim?"

"Yes...I do. One more question. A lot has been written about the conditions over here. Where you been staying...what have you been eating?"

"I have a place in town, and another in the mountains. Hot or cold...I choose. As for food...Oh my...I flew over to the Caspian Sea the other day, and caught me a sturgeon. Those fish eggs...caviar to you...are beyond description. The best in the world. They're so good that I leave the rest of the fish to those pesky pelicans. As for Sochi...have you seen the packs of wild dogs? Scary. They get all the scraps around here...although I'm always on the lookout to pick me off a little chihauhau."

Ernest wasn't my favorite picture of the day, but how many times do you get to see an eagle? My favorite pictures were of an osprey eating a sheepshead (fish.) He was really into it.


Glide on over to my FLICKR PAGE to see it, along with a couple other birds.

P.S. You know things are bad when you watch a controlled burn (fire) for 45 minutes. But...if I hadn't have doubled back to watch it...Ranger Tom would have never told me where the eagles were. Always a thrill to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.