Visitor

This wee South Island Bush Robin came to join us for dinner - in fact it got so close that I kept having to shuffle along the picnic table to get far enough away to get it in focus.

This morning A1, K and I walked into Matiri Lake, then A2 joined us in the late afternoon (she had morning commitments).

It was an interesting walk - the track has washed out in two places and in the first we had to wade the usual river then do a mad scramble, slip and slide up a sandstone face to find the start of the track - you usually have a bit of a cliff climb at that point but it used to be on roots and rocks - a slippery sandstone face (and higher!) was a much more challenging prospect.

Half way through the walk you usually hit a huge scree slip with a track across it. the slip has slipped further an the track has disappeared. We walked further up the riverbed and then found a place to climb. It was seriously scary (bearing in mind that heights freeze me). We were climbing on rocks and grasses and ferns - testing every step of the way and clinging tightly to the ferns whilst pleading with them not to give way. I finished the last 12 feet on my hands and knees. Scary stuff!

Anyway, it was well worth it when we got there. A beautiful setting, wonderful views and good company. We shared the hut with a man who was really interesting to talk to - we discussed everything from the quality of the writing of various authors to the state of the economy and the benefits of meditation. He has me seriously contemplating Te Ara Roa - the trail that you can walk from the top of NZ to the bottom through a series of tracks. His talking about the Wanganui part of the track, that is done by kayak, has me inspired to learn to kayak properly so that I can take on the challenge.

While I was outside chatting I heard a tree fall across the valley - lovely weather at the time, no wind. Fascinating to hear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.