Coming Home

A couple things I've learned after observing ospreys the last few years. 1. They seem to stay together as couples. 2. They don't like to eat their meals with each other. When they catch a fish, they usually take it away from the nest, and indulge by themselves. 3. When one of them offers up the "whistle", the other one often comes a-flyin.

I first saw the male osprey perched on a light pole. After taking 10-15 shots, he tired of me, and flew off. I thought that he flew out of my range, but I walked over 2 blocks just in case I could still see him. His second dining spot was on top of a telephone pole...probably as close as I've ever been to one. I snapped off WAY too many pictures of the feast, but all of those have ended up on my FLICKR PAGE. A little bit graphic...in a tearing-apart-a-fish kind of way.

Meanwhile, I moved to a spot underneath the nest...thinking that the male would eventually finish his meal, and return.

Instead, the female left the nest...dive-bombing a couple of pelicans, and perhaps trying to get the attention of the male.

What a handsome bird. I never tire of seeing them.

I'm going to relinquish the computer now, and plan our garage sale/flea market Saturday. There is one sale where the people start lining up at 7:30 a.m., AND IT DOESN'T OPEN UNTIL 9! Oh my...what to do...what to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.