It's an Ibis

Years ago we took a vacation to Yellowstone National Park...seeing many large animals. It got to the point where we spotted so many deer that we started answering the "What is it? What is it?" question with..."Oh, it's just a deer."

That's how I feel about the ibis down here. I see a flash of white fly by...hurry up to the spot...and see that it is just an ibis. As Rodney Dangerfield used to say..."They just don't get any respect."

They are multi-faceted...feeding at both the ocean, and the neighborhood lawns. I'm guessing snails at the seashore, and small bugs out of the grass. A pretty bird with an unusual beak.

Lisa took me out to dinner for my birthday. 61 years young today. I chose a place where I got my dinner and a soft drink for free. All I had to do was show proof that I was born on this day. Pretty nice. An Amish place that specializes in down-home cooking. Good food...good pie.

The weather was a little nasty today. Overcast and rainy. When Lisa is here, I don't take off for the water for hours and hours. That's not a complaint because I love to have her here, and she's real good about letting me slip away to my favorite birding spots.

We took a walk in the park, and did a little shopping. Plus...she laid a little guilt trip on me about leaving to come to Florida 4 days before HER birthday. Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.