Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

5 Floors Up


We often talk about running away. Today we did! We're down the rabbit hole and gone. Look what we've found!

Along with the usual -- bed, bath, and big screen TV -- this room has a view to "live" for, a fireplace, and a kitchen (so Mr. Fun can continue the winning streak with his dieting), and the sound of the waves.

Now that we've finally connected to the WiFi I'll be able to communicate with my students. I will be taking one "personal leave day," so my students will be over-joyed that their English class is cancelled Tuesday. They thought it was unfair that the Thursday students would be getting a holiday, but they wouldn't. So now they can all be happy, and hopefully I'll get a few papers read and marked while we are here.

We watched the sun go down behind Catalina Island just before 5 o'clock. It was beautiful. A few moments later a seagull standing on the balcony railing with the island in the background was also a lovely capture, but the shoreline is always magical so it was today's winner.

This is where I wanted to be last week for my birthday, but going away just did not fit into my school schedule at that point. This week is a perfect fit. Lots of schools close for the entire Thanksgiving holiday week, not mine.

We'll arrive back home just in time to have Thanksgiving dinner with the family at our daughter's home.

What fun comments were left yesterday regarding the bookstore episode. Makes me wonder if that imaginary moment might become reality.

Good night from the sand and surf of Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun) (and Bob dog, too), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.