Lip Gloss!

Here's the rest of the town shots - Wijk bij Duurstede.

Short working day today. Management cancelled all lessons after 13.50 because the students had to attend some kind of placement event. There'll be another one in a couple of weeks. Anyway, since my planning is done and most of my prep, too, thought I'd spend the free afternoon enjoying the glorious weather by sightseeing, a.k.a. blipping. Drove all the way to Wijk bij Duurstede (sounds like 'Why+k by DurSTAYduh), province of Utrecht (the provincial capital city is also called Utrecht) because I knew they had a fab castle there -- Kasteel Duurstede -- which is unfortunately no longer open to the public. Instead, it is owned by a hotel chain who leases it for weddings, receptions (of course!) and other formal gatherings. No reservation or appointment = no entry. No matter. (When does it ever?) I walked around and took some outside shots of the castle (built 1640-ish), then sauntered through town to the local windmill and harbour and took some more shots. But what really woke me up was this shockingly pink cabriolet which was parked in front of the local, but fairly sized, ice cream parlour. It was a choice between the castle, the windmill and the car. The castle and the windmill aren't going anywhere but chances are that I most likely won't see this car again. To be clear, I don't need to own one but don't you agree it looks luscious?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.