0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"Can you Photoshop that out?"
"What happened?"
"I burnt myself, silly mistake really, doing someone's hair!"



When I'm walking down the street, searching for portrait subjects, I often make eye contact with many people as that is often a way to 'see' people. I usually have my camera on show, as it hangs around my shoulder, so people may make up their own minds about my purpose. Though, this has never been a barrier, I think the approach is often the key.

Anyway, the only reason I mention this is because today I was making my quick stop off in town, and caught a sight of Lauren here. She made eye contact, clocked my camera and looked away, almost shyly. But there was something about her body language and behavior which led me to believe that she wanted to be photographed. When I stopped her, she didn't admit to it, but I asked her if she had been photographed in the streets before and the answer was "Yes" (of course).

We chatted briefly while we swapped cards (Lauren is a vintage hair stylist) but we got interrupted by her friend who just happened to be walking past so it was a very brief encounter. No doubt I shall bump into her again, looking as she does it will be easy to spot her :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.